Queen Bees: Women Riders Who Rule the Street, Track and Dirt

Queen Bees: Women Riders Who Rule the Street, Track and Dirt is a collection of stories from female riders all over the planet who have a passion for anything with two (or three) wheels and a motor. This is our opportunity as women who ride to share our hearts, minds, bodies and souls with the world…   show them all who we really are.

Just for fun, I’d like to describe my vision of what this project is going to be like. If the #1 bestseller “Chicken Soup for the Soul” and the song “I am Woman” had a baby together, and that baby grew up on the handlebars of a bike ridden by a bad-ass motorcycle chick… then that would be this book.

Have something to say?  We know you do!

The book will consist of several chapters, all focusing on a different aspect of what makes female riders really tick. This is where we are giving you the chance to tell your story, or stories about your life as a motorcyclist.  Guys, you can also contribute, as long as you write about a woman you know or know of who you feel represents one of the chapters well. Photographers, you can submit photos as well, anything that you think might capture the spirit of a Queen Bee or what the lifestyle is all about. There will be no limit to the number of times you can send in a story or photo, as long as each submission focuses on one of the specific subjects we’ve chosen to feature in the book.

Here is a list of the chapters we will be featuring in Queen Bees:

1. Method to the Madness – Why I Ride.
2. Seeking the Missing Piece – How I Discovered Riding.
3. Addiction in the Making – My First Ride.
4. Home is Where the Heart is – My Favorite Place to Ride.
5. More than Just a Bike – How My Motorcycle Empowers Me.
6. Survivors, Soldiers, Warriors – Learning to Get Up After the Fall
7. Independent Women – What it Means to Rule
8. True Queen Bees – Women Motorcyclists Who Inspire

That’s me, Brittany Morrow, at the Conga!

If you need some inspiration, read our blog posts!  Brittny and I have elaborated and even given examples on each chapter in order to help clarify our vision and nudge those of you who might be on the fence about sending us a story. There is no limit to the length of your submission. All we require is your permission to edit and publish your words, with full author recognition, if/when we choose to include your submission into the book.

Please send all submissions to: QueenBeesBook@gmail.com – you can paste your story right into the body of the email, or attach it as a Microsoft Word document.

Our own Brittny Cleveland, at the track!

Please, please, PUH-LEEZE spread the word about our project and submission policy to any and all of your friends and family – you never know who might have a story or a photo up their sleeve! Being a rider isn’t required, but focusing on women who ride is a must.

The book will be available for purchase online, so you can share the stories with everyone you know! Publication dates will be released as we get closer to completion.

So, until then…

Write on!

21 thoughts on “Queen Bees: Women Riders Who Rule the Street, Track and Dirt

  1. Hi My name is Danielle Hebert, I have been on the road with my bike since June 2010, it’s a long story, and there are lots of stories… I kept a blog all along, it’s at daniellehebert.wordpress.com it’s called on the road.

    I’m not sure if this fits in your concept or not, this is a link to the very first post which sort of tells where I am coming from http://daniellehebert.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/hello-world/

    this is one of the posts while I was in new mexico
    http://daniellehebert.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/258/

    Let me know if you think we could do something together.

  2. This is So cool! I know after so many hard falls racing motocross what has gone through my head. I would love to hear what goes through a badass chick’s head. Come on, a girl on a mod motocross bike!

  3. Sounds like a great book in the making!
    I probably have a story for each subject you are presenting. I’ll think on which one speaks most to me as a woman biker.
    meanwhile… here’s my motorcycle blog link. I rode across the country last summer to celebrate my 50th birthday, and am planning another for 2012.
    Very excited!
    http://beeinthewind.blogspot.com
    oh, and by coincidence, my nickname is Bee…the photo of me and bike will explain it 🙂

    kate lamontagne

  4. I’ll be happy to submit something. I’ll be running an altered, 650 cc motorcycle on the Bonneville Salt Flats for three AMA National land speed records at the end of this month. 🙂

  5. Whoooohoooo! This sounds like such an awesome project, Brittany. So, so excited for you, all the women who end up contributing to the book, and all of us lucky peeps who get to read it. I so love what you are doing to further motorcycling for women. I am doing my part, too! I’m starting a motorcycle touring company for women very, very soon. My first tour is happening in early spring 2012. My company? Biker Babe Tours. Find us on Facebook or at http://www.BikerBabeTours.com and http://BikerBabeTours.wordpress.com/. I plan on contributing a story for your book as well. Again, congrats on the upcoming book and keep us posted on all of your adventures. You so rock, sister. Much love, Liz Casey

  6. Pingback: Biker Women Who Write: Send in Your Stories! | BikerBabeTours

  7. Ladies, I posted a blurb about this call for submissions and book to my Biker Babe Tours blog and Facebook pages. Let’s all do this and get the word out for “the two Bs”! Check it: http://bikerbabetours.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/biker-women-who-write-send-in-your-stories/. Also, Brittany or Brittny, consider putting a post on http://www.HerMotorcycle.com, a very active and amazing resource site for all things female and biker. Can’t wait to read the book. : )) –Liz Casey

  8. Hi there,
    I’ve been riding on the street (legally) since 1977…so I’m a bit of an old-timer. I can’t even remember how many years, or rather even decades, that it took before I saw another solo woman rider. They were few & far between back then!

    My passion for motorcycles goes far beyond riding. I build, maintain, customize and restore vintage Cafe Racers and other bikes I have an interest in. I’m hoping to do my first ever trackday at ORP next spring, and also plan on both an around-the-country and an European ride next summer. I’d like to send you some stories of how much riding has changed in the last 3 decades, if you’d like to hear them.

  9. Great idea and I definitely plan to follow this…will love reading the experiences of others. If you need any articles on long-distance riding, I’d love to contribute. I did my 1st cross country trip this year covering 5800 miles, 26 days, and 16 states. I could lend some guidance on planning, preparing, packing, and thoughts for the road.

  10. Wow, great project. I’m looking forward to seeing your book. We just found you on the web. I’ll submit a story, and so will my touring business partner Karen Thomson of AVID MotoTours. Together we run the Womens Empowerment Motorcycle Tour, a “Teaching Tour” that empowers women riders with all the skills needed to go out and tour on their own. Experienced tour-guides, we coach before the tour, and then on tour we offer seminars and workshops on specific skills and information sets, geared towards confidence-building and rider development. We’re passionate about what we do, and want to share that feeling of freedom that two-wheeled travel offers.

    I’ve ridden on and off road all over the planet in the last few years (blog: http://www.MotoAdventureGal.com) and Karen has just been awarded her 300,000 miles on a BMW award. We’ve each toured solo for decades, and have a lot to share about motorcycling!

Leave a Reply

